Berkey counterfeit water filters warning

Although it may be acceptable that certain products be manufactured in China, when it comes to health -related items such as food, drugs, medical items and water purifiers, you should carefully examine the source.

Chinese manufacturers have long experience in the production of compromise products. The examples include food and treats for contaminated pets, toys1,2covered with lead paint3And the dry -defective dry partitions that have made consumers sick.4

When purchasing a water filtration system, protect your family's health by carefully assessing products. Nothing replaces Berkey quality® .

Pay attention ! ::
1. Do not fall into the declarations trap "it's okay, so it's a replacement"
2. Know that filtration is not synonymous with purification
3. Beware of general "NSF" declarations
4. Carefully examine the vague or misleading statements
5. Pay attention to contradictory declarations
6 carefully inspect the lifespan declarations of the elements
7. On -demand tests
8. Evaluate guarantees and customer service
9. Read the small characters

The essential
Always buy from trusted marks and know where the items are manufactured. If something seems suspicious, your instinct is probably right.

Let's take a closer look
Beware of general "NSF" complaints
Some imitations manufacturers also manufacture filters for filtration systems from the whole house and the refrigerator. Understand that NSF test protocols for these applications are different from those established specifically for gravity powered systems.

NSF standard attention

Understand NSF 42 and 53 standards
It is important to note that NSF 42 and 53 standards do not certify that a filter eliminates pathogenic bacteria or other contaminants; Standards require only a reduction.

NSF 42 standard (aesthetic impurities)
According to this standard, filters are certified to reduce (but not eliminate) aesthetic impurities such as chlorine and taste/smell in already biologically safe and known quality water. Consequently, this certification does not concern the purification of non -potable water. In addition, this standard only aims to reduce substances affecting the aesthetic quality of water only, or add chemicals for tartar control, or both.
NSF 53 standard (health effects)
A filter can receive standard NSF certification 53 if it treats (and effectively reduces) at least one of the contaminants with health effects (such as lead and other heavy metals or volatile organic compounds), as detailed by the 'Environmental protection agency (EPA).
Also note that the reduction of an unhealthy water contaminant (a reduction of 25 % is considered a reduction) to qualify for standard NSF 53 is nothing compared to the powerful capacity to eliminate contaminants ( > 99.9 %) of Black Berkey purification elements.

Beware of contradictory statements and carefully examine the lifespan declarations
We have examined the list of manufacturer's products and found five different filter lifespan specifications:

6 months (as indicated on product packaging)
3,000 gallons for each filter (11356 liters)
8,000 gallons for a pair (30,283 liters)
4,000 gallons for each filter (15,141 liters)
An automatic delivery option Frequency abnormally short of 3 months
It is confusing and deceptive for consumers.

Demant to see real tests
Here is an example: a manufacturer lists the results of the tests he would have carried out, but then omits to show the real results of laboratory tests. We expect you to simply take their word. In addition, the NSF test reports referenced below apply to refrigerator filters, and not to the filter powered by gravity announced.

Read also :Nothing replaces Berkey quality 

Berkey holograms: Recognize the authentic black berkey

Avertissement filtres à eau contrefaits Berkey

Bien qu'il puisse être acceptable que certains produits soient fabriqués en Chine, lorsqu'il s'agit d'articles liés à la santé comme les aliments, les médicaments, les articles médicaux et les purificateurs d'eau, vous devez examiner attentivement la source.

Les fabricants chinois ont une longue expérience dans la production de produits compromis. Les exemples incluent les aliments et les friandises pour animaux de compagnie contaminés, les jouets 1,2 recouverts de peinture au plomb 3 et les cloisons sèches défectueuses qui ont rendu les consommateurs malades. 4

Lors de l'achat d'un système de filtration d'eau, protégez la santé de votre famille en évaluant soigneusement les produits. Rien ne remplace la qualité Berkey® .

Faites attention ! :
1. Ne tombez pas dans le piège des déclarations « ça va, donc c'est un remplacement »
2. Sachez que la filtration n'est PAS synonyme de purification
3. Méfiez vous des déclarations générales « NSF »
4. Examinez attentivement les déclarations vagues ou trompeuses
5. Faites attention aux déclarations contradictoires
6 Inspectez attentivement les déclarations de durée de vie des éléments
7. Tests à la demande
8. Évaluez les garanties et le service client
9. Lisez les petits caractères

L'essentiel
Achetez toujours auprès de marques de confiance et sachez où les articles sont fabriqués. Si quelque chose semble suspect, votre instinct a probablement raison.

Regardons de plus près
Méfiez vous des réclamations générales "NSF"
Certains fabricants d'imitations fabriquent également des filtres pour les systèmes de filtration de toute la maison et du réfrigérateur. Comprenez que les protocoles de test NSF pour ces applications sont différents de ceux établis spécifiquement pour les systèmes alimentés par gravité.

norme nsf attention

Comprendre les normes NSF 42 et 53
Il est important de noter que les normes NSF 42 et 53 ne certifient pas qu'un filtre élimine les bactéries pathogènes ou autres contaminants ; les normes n'exigent qu'une réduction .

Norme NSF 42 (impuretés esthétiques)
Selon cette norme, les filtres sont certifiés pour réduire (mais pas éliminer) les impuretés esthétiques telles que le chlore et le goût/l'odeur dans une eau déjà biologiquement sûre et de qualité connue. Par conséquent, cette certification ne concerne pas la purification de l'eau non potable . De plus, cette norme vise uniquement à réduire les substances affectant la qualité esthétique de l'eau uniquement, ou à ajouter des produits chimiques pour le contrôle du tartre, ou les deux.
Norme NSF 53 (Effets sur la santé)
Un filtre peut recevoir la certification NSF Standard 53 s'il traite (et réduit efficacement) au moins un des contaminants ayant des effets sur la santé (tels que le plomb et d'autres métaux lourds ou composés organiques volatils), comme détaillé par l'Agence de protection de l'environnement (EPA).
Notez également que la réduction d'un contaminant malsain de l'eau (une réduction de 25 % est considérée comme une réduction) pour se qualifier pour la norme NSF 53 n'est rien par rapport à la puissante capacité d'élimination des contaminants (> 99,9 %) des éléments de purification Black Berkey.

Méfiez-vous des déclarations contradictoires et examinez attentivement les déclarations de durée de vie
Nous avons examiné la liste des produits d'un fabricant et avons trouvé cinq spécifications de durée de vie de filtre différentes :

6 mois (comme indiqué sur l'emballage du produit)
3 000 gallons pour chaque filtre (11356 litres)
8 000 gallons pour une paire  (30283 litres)
4 000 gallons pour chaque filtre (15141 litres)
Une option de livraison automatique fréquence anormalement courte de 3 mois
C'est déroutant et trompeur pour les consommateurs.

Exigez pour voir les tests réels
Voici un exemple : un fabricant répertorie les résultats des tests qu'il aurait effectués, mais omet ensuite de montrer les résultats réels des tests de laboratoire. On s'attend à ce que vous preniez simplement leur parole. De plus, les rapports de test NSF référencés ci-dessous s'appliquent aux filtres de réfrigérateur , et non au filtre alimenté par gravité annoncé.

 A lire aussi : Rien ne remplace la qualité Berkey 

Les hologrammes Berkey : Reconnaitre le black Berkey authentique